MR Imaging: Sequences we use and why.

MR Imaging: Sequences we use and why.

Read the publication >

Typically there are at least 8 different sets of images in a body magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) study, which can bewilder the radiologist who may be comfortable with looking at only 1 set of images required by computed tomography (CT). The standard MR sequences obtained are: noncontrast T1-weighted (T1W) in-phase, out-of-phase and fat-suppressed images, and T2-weighted (T2W) fat- and non-fat-suppressed images. Other standard sequences include contrast-enhanced T1W sequences imaged during the hepatic arterial dominant phase, early hepatic venous phase and the interstitial phase (Figure 1). This review describes the core data interpretation from these different imaging sets to raise the comfort level for image interpretation of abdominal MRI studies.

Contact Us

Phone Icon

T: +44 7413 022053

Email Icon


Address Icon

8thFloor, 1 Butterwick, Hammersmith, London, W6 8DL United Kingdom


100 E Penn Square, Suite 423 The Wanamaker Building Philadelphia, PA 19107, USA